Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Good Trick, Microsoft.

I was under the impression if you sent an email, realized a mistake, recalled the message and replaced it with the correct message, Microsoft Outlook would just do it's thang. And, you know, take care of it.

Say what? That just sends the recipient an "oh crap, I'd prefer to recall that message" message, leaving the original and the new iteration both there for easy comparison as to why I may have recalled it in the first place?

I was unaware...

5 comments:

Cliff, Kendal and Stone said...

Ummm, yes. When I learned about this, I was mortified.

Natalie said...

haha, I remember explaining this to my mom. I don't know why they have that function. To embarass?

aw, wait -- she also thought she could go to the "send" folder and delete it and all would be lost on the recievers end too. Not quite.

Ashley said...

Justin was on the receiving end of that once, it was hilarious!

riley said...

Yeah, that is Microsoft's version of "Punked". The send button is so tempting. There have been many a time I have sent a message prematurely. Have you ever realized it as soon as you send it, panic, and try in vain to catch it in your outbox before it is sent? It is hilariously pathetic. At that point, the only option is to hack the recipient's computer and delete it (which I am not above doing, ask my wife...).

Hannadam said...

I have been fooled by that before too, which is why every email message that goes out gets spell checked.